Temple University

Top Watermark

Awards and Appointments


The Public Health Department of Temple’s College of Public Health was honored with a Community Participation Award for its many years of work with the Red Cross. Nikki Franke, EdD, Director of the Public Health Master of Education program, accepted the award from Judge Renee Hughes, CEO of Southeastern Pennsylvania American Red Cross Chapter, and Gail McGovern, National CEO and President of the American Red Cross, on behalf of the department.

Temple University recently established its own Red Cross Club.

Therapeutic Recreation students Megan Baumel, Laura Cadge, and Brigid Lyons have been awarded Peg Connolly Scholarships to attend the the American Therapeutic Recreation Association (ATRA) Annual Conference in Phoenix, AZ this October. Student attendees gain professional experience and networking opportunities while helping with various aspects of organizing the conference. A total of eight scholarships are awarded each year to exceptional students across the country.
Reine Elodie A. Koffi, a May 2012 graduate of CPH’s BSHIM program, has been selected to receive an AHIMA Student Triumph Award, the highest recognition given by the American Health Information Management Association. The Student Triumph Awards honor individuals who have made a significant difference in the HIM profession. The award will be conferred in October, during AHIMA’s Annual Convention and Exhibits. 


Joon Young Park, PhD, Assistant Professor in the Department of Kinesiology and Director of the Cardiovascular Genomics Laboratory, has been elected to the editorial board of Exercise and Sport Sciences Reviews (ESSR). ESSR is the official review journal of the American College of Sports Medicine. This journal is ranked in the top quartile for the categories of Physiology and Sports Sciences by the Thompson Reuters Web of Knowledge. Dr. Park will hold the position of Assistant Editor from 2012 to 2014.
To read more about the Cardiovascular Genomic Lab, visit: https://sites.google.com/site/cvglabtemple/home.
To access the ESSR online, visit: http://journals.lww.com/acsm-essr/pages/default.aspx.

Emily Keshner, PhD, EdD, chair of CPH's Department of Physical Therapy, has been inducted President of the International Society of Posture and  Gait Research.