Temple University

Top Watermark

CPH News

Social Work Professor to Join Radio Discussion on Suicide Rate

Jonathan B. Singer, PhD, LCSW, assistant professor of Social Work at CPH, will be featured on WHYY’s Radio Times on June 20 for a discussion about the rising suicide rate. He will be joined by Thomas Joiner, PhD, professor of psychology at Florida State University and Susan Rogers, Director of Special Projects at the Mental Health Association of Southeastern PA.

You can listen to Radio Times online at http://whyy.org/cms/radiotimes/.

Posted:  June 5, 2013

Kinesiology PhD Student Interviewed by International Society of Hypertension

Dianne M. Babbitt, a PhD student in the Department of Kinesiology, was featured by the International Society of Hypertension as their June 2013 Spotlight of the Month. Dianne works in CPH’s Hypertension Molecular and Applied Physiology Lab, which is directed by Michael D. Brown, PhD. Her research specialty is the effect of exercise on inflammation and endothelial function.

Posted:  June 5, 2013

IEP Student Receives Research Award from BONE Interest Group

Tiffiny Butler, a doctoral candidate in the Department of Kinesiology’s Integrative Exercise Physiology program, received a Basic Science Research Award for her work entitled "Food Restriction Post Puberty is Positive for Bone Structure Long Term." This $250 award is granted by the Bone and Osteoporosis Network Exchange (BONE) Interest Group of the American College of Sports Medicine.

Posted:  May 29, 2013

Kinesiology Doctoral Candidate Receives PATS Research Grant

Lindsay McGuire, a doctoral candidate in the Department of Kinesiology, was recently awarded the 2013-2014 Pennsylvania Athletic Trainers Society Research Grant for her proposal “Temporal Changes in Depression and Neurocognitive Performance in Male and Female NCAA Student-Athletes: A Longitudinal Evaluation Pre- and Post-Concussion Injury.” She will use this $5000 grant to support her dissertation work this coming year.

Posted:  May 29, 2013

CHPSW Research Day

On Friday, April 26, more than 70 students from the College of Public Health presented at CPH Research Day. Faculty members Dr. Geoff Wright and Dr. Jay Fagan gave oral presentations on their work funded with CPH grants from the Dean's Office. Three students from each session received Meritous Poster Awards, and one student from each session was given the Dean's Award for Outstanding Posters.

Posted:  April 26, 2013

Inspiration Temple Made: Celebrating Courage, Compassion and Community

On Saturday, April 20, Temple Alumnus Austin Frazier (HIM 2003) will be moderating a panel discussion of fellow alumni. The discussion, titled “Inspiration Temple Made: Celebrating Courage, Compassion and Community”, will be a presentation and celebration of the many ways in which Temple graduates are making a positive impact in the world.

Posted:  April 17, 2013